A first step

I’m in London. Today, I’m taking a first lesson with a couple of great great guys from the Sexyloop wild bunch. We’re there thank to Mark Surtees, who organized this meeting to raise some funds for Knut Syrstad. The preliminary rounds of beer went reasonably well, Mark, Steve, Mike and Vince being all jolly good fellows indeed. One hour from now I’m hitting the lawn, and for the first time in my fly casting life, someone will really know what he’s doing.

Actually, I will quite possibly be the only one not knowing what he’s doing. I expect to learn a lot, although no one seems to know what. After the fourth round I’ve been assured that most of my casting faults were to be solved in 5 mins top.

Now that would be grand. I’m more excited than Blair Waldorf on Cotillion’s day.

7 thoughts on “A first step

  1. You’re right, that terrible omen, but I think the worse of the curse missed me and hit Mike instead who ended up all funny when he tried to put some KFC shit into the liters of pear cider he’s been drinking.
    but still some of the juju reached home, I fell under the tcx spell. I blame you (and Siem).

  2. oh yeah. I spent a bit of time with steve kamp’s 590 precisely with that in mind. definitely a good rod (not quite as good as the TCX though, but then one may say I don’t deserve it yet :mrgreen:)
    don’t wait for me if you’ve got good offers, but it’s definitely under serious consideration. I’ll get back to you about it.

  3. Hi Laurent. I didn’t realise you were the one responsible for this blog. It figures though. Personally I think you can handle any rod you like, I saw some very sweet casting.
    Mike

    • Hi Mike!
      What I saw in London kind of redefined what a loop is for me. It’s all very good to read about it and watch vids of it, but as I should have known, it’s no match for the real thing.
      Let me take this opportunity to thank you again for your time and wisdom, I wish you all the best for 2013!

Leave a Reply

